My adventure in becoming a [Good] Mormon

Bah!!There’s so many!

1)Grade nine band camp at Camp Chestemere, we just had a water fight and I was laughing too hard to mop the floor up. After I finished, I sat on one of the super comfy couches with Corey, who was mad at me for getting his socks wet so he put his feet on me and made me blow  his feet dry. I don’t know why when I think band camp this one pops into my head, it just does. The best memories I have are from band camp though and I remember almost all of each of them.

2) The Temple: First thoughts: Disappointment, the entrance area is rather plain. You remind me of a ferengi…Why are you holding my gaze?!Speakers never do that! How is it you’re nearly whispering and I can hear you in the back? Old women never judge by clothing sizes, I like that. In the Baptismal font room: I’m going to get neck cramps looking up for so long and I’m in the way. It smells good. It’s very pretty. The oxen are huuuge!! This odd suit thing is comfy. In the water: I can’t grip your arm when you flex it like so. You have odd fingers. Is this see-through? Gosh I hope not. Elizabeth Mary King. I wonder if she accepted it? I’ll have to ask her one day when I’m dead. Ow my knees, that’s a wall. The murals look hilarious from an underwater view. Out of water: oh my gosh it’s cold. I can’t see! Towel towel towel!! I’m going to slip and fall back into the pool. Will they kick me out if that happens? Towel yes! Oh look! Melissa! Haha, hugs mean warmth. I think i just got you wet. I love you too. Am I crying or is that water from my hair? Probably both. Gosh I’m happy! Why are you touching my legs? Oh, comfy material is heavy when wet, squelch squelch. Changing stall too awkward to kneel in and i don’t feel like getting more wet, pray during confirmations. Can one fall down this chute, it’s unsafe to put it here.Ah!Laundry chute! Out: Oh my gosh!More murals! I’m lost again….

I love remembering my thought processes, especially about major events, which is the only time I ever can remember them in such detail. As you can see, my mind is bouncy and weird.

3)The few things that have actually hurt me: a) The first and only time you called me fat. It was the only time being called that actually ever hurt. In fact, it still upsets me. You never did apologize. b) You chose her over me and you stayed in Edmonton to be with her. She left and I never would dream of it. Now you moved away again. I’m still here though. c) The endless days of you yelling at me while I forced myself to concentrate on a spot until I was dizzy just to keep you out. I never did anything but tell my mom about my day and somehow that justified you screaming at me. What did I do? d)You hammering me with stupid questions while I couldn’t quote scriptures fast enough to answer. Whatever happened to you accepting it?

4)Day after my confirmation, sitting at my kitchen table listening to Moby’s “God moving over the waters” crying as I read the testimonies written in my new journal by my friends from Church and realizing the awesomeness of the choice I just made and the friends I made and grew closer to over the past month.

 

Day 1: Ten random facts about yourself.

Day 2: Nine things you do everyday.

Day 3: Eight things that annoy you.

Day 4: Seven fears/phobias.

Day 5: Six songs that you’re addicted to.

Day 6: Five things you can’t live without.

Day 7: Four memories you won’t forget.

Day 8: Three words you can’t go a day without using.

Day 9: Two things you wish you could do.

Day 10: One person you can trust

 

Comments on: "Four memories I won’t forget, day 7" (2)

  1. Melissa said:

    Cass, you rock my world. You are so awesome. I love the bit about the temple. I was laughing and smiling. I didn’t know all that was going on in your head! 🙂 “Is this see through? gosh I hope not” hahaha and “ow my knees” lol and the bit about the chute…so funny. And thanks for the part about me. I’m glad I was there with you. 🙂
    3 makes me sad 😦 I’m sorry there’s people in your life who hurt/ have hurt you. That sucks.

    • Hehe, yes, some days I really wish I could just write all my thought processes out, because they’re so amusing to me and no one would get it if I burst out laughing. I was totally out of it when I found the chute because I was freaking out if I dawdled they’d boot me out so I was leaning down (I forgot my glasses) practically sticking my head in it trying to figure out what it was. It had a freezing cold breeze, not nice on cold hair.

      Concerning 3: Yes it sucked, but we will all have times like that. I’m happy to say those are the only things that have really stuck to me and even then, I rarely remember them. I have more of an issue containing my laughter everytime I remember the good times than I do worrying over stuff like that.

Leave a Reply

