My adventure in becoming a [Good] Mormon

Giftsies

‎”We all enjoy giving and receiving presents. But there is a difference between presents and gifts. The true gifts may be part of ourselves—giving of the riches of the heart and mind—and therefore more enduring and of far greater worth than presents bought at the store.”
-James E Faust

There, that just explained why 1) I love giving gifts but 2) Shopping is so extraordinarily difficult for me. I want to give everyone a piece of myself, so they can look at it and think ‘I remember Cass’. I know I do that with almost EVERY gift I’ve gotten, even if it wasn’t intended. Perfect example: Lotion. Every time I put it on, it reminds me of whomever gave it to me and makes me happy.

Comments on: "Giftsies" (2)

  1. Melissa said:

    Wow, that quote by Faust would’ve been perfect for today’s lesson! So good.
    I like what you said about thinking of people with gifts, for example, a friend of mine gave me beaters (like mixing beaters for making cookies and stuff) for a wedding present so every time I baked, I thought of him (He was this older guy who always gave me hugs at church). He passed away a few years ago and just recently the beaters broke! It was so sad I cried! I mean, I bought new beaters – they’re not expensive – but I enjoyed being able to think about Bro. Thompson every time I used them. 😦 Sad, but it’s okay. Hopefully I’ll be able to see him again some day.

    • Aw, I know what you mean. An old woman my family knew when i was really little gave me one of those old hourglasses (well, minuteglass) because every time I was over I would play with it. She gave it to me not long before she passed away and now it sits on my dresser and every morning I see it and am reminded of her.

Leave a Reply

