My adventure in becoming a [Good] Mormon

No, it’s not chocolate (which I’m currently munching on, so I know ;D LOL).

I just found something that is really mentally and spiritually satisfying. Flat out telling people ‘No, I’m not doing that. It’s against everything I believe in and stand for, so I will not do it’. Granted, I didn’t have a strong relationship with the person who I said it to, but it was nice to say that and afterwards, I felt glad I had the courage to do it and not fear the consequences.

But I was thinking afterwards, you know, whenever faced with situations like this, most people (myself included, except this time it seems) are afraid to do this, because they’re afraid of offending people. Which is good, on one hand, it’s important to be sensitive to others, but in the long run, it’s not that great at all, because people come and go from our lives, but God does not. And if you lose one person from your life because they don’t accept your beliefs, there are 6 billion+ others out there that you could have in your life instead, but there is only one God (Yeah, that’s my wisdom-y thought for the day XD).  It’s like what…I think it was Bishop Grunewald (?) at YW’s last week that said ‘Many of us try to please God without offending Satan and that just isn’t feasible’. And he’s right, you just can’t do it.

So, I think, instead of constantly brooding on how we offended people by staying true to our morals, we should be proud that we had the ability to stand up and stay true to what we believe in and think of how proud God is of us for doing it, not worrying about who just got angry with us because we won’t go along with them. And besides, if our friends truly are our friends, they’ll respect and understand our decision…Or (even better) would not have asked us at all.

Anyways, I’m supposed to be writing scholarship essays XD.

Leave a Reply

